A thank you note for my dad

Dear dad, happy birthday.

Thank you for being the best dad ever. Thank you for always treating me like a person, never like a child. Thank you for always expecting more from me than anyone else. Thank you for being the sort of person who makes this world a better place. Thank you for your support, for tolerating me in times when I could not tolerate myself. Thank you for raising me not to care about money and material things and for teaching me that giving your best for something you believe in is the only way to go through life.

Thank you for never lecturing me, but talking to me like an equal. Thank you for being one of my best friends in the world.

I’m thankful for all your shortcomings, for your stubbornness and lack of patience because without them you would not be you.

Nikoleta

P.S. I do wish you would take better care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

