Real Books, Friends and Benedict Cumberbatch

No birds were injured during the writing of this post.

My reading buddy criticised me for deciding to write a new-year post. Our debate is long and uninteresting to the uniformed, so I’ll just say she was right, given the circumstances of the conversation. My argument for writing this post is simple: new year resolution about which I will write will reflect on this blog.

I decided to read only “real” books during 2015 (real books being made out of paper). I’m quite reluctant to buy Cheap Thrills and Guilty Pleasures books (although I hope some of my purchases will end up as such), so I assume there’ll be less posts about erotic fiction. I could borrow such titles in my local library, but they know my name and address, so that’s not really an option for me.

Frankly, I want to kill two birds with one stone. Wait, three birds.

Bird 1: Read more “real” books;
Bird 2: Finally read some of those books I’ve already bought;
Bird 3: Read more substantial and edifying titles (and accompanying books).

I had a great start this year. Aforementioned reading buddy struggled through snow and winds to come stay at my place. We played cards, ate too much, bought real books and played a lot of Scrabble. We’ve also had a post-New-Year karaoke party which was a blast. Not to mention that on the first day of 2015 I’ve had the pleasure to enjoy Imitation Game. A truly excellent movie.

Is there a better way to start a new year with good friends, new books, a good movie and Benedict Cumberbatch? Methinks no.

62969cfe13d139e84b34989634ac954c

All in all, an awesome start to a, hopefully, awesome year.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lukre says:

    Your friend appreciates the honourable mention and will return the favour soon. Also thanks you for the great week of holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

