Obsessed Much?

I want to write about Obsession. No, I am not talking about the perfume. It’s the name of my iTunes playlist. At first it was creatively titled Most Played, but soon it became obvious it’s a result of my monomaniacal (yes, I’m rereading Moby Dick) replay of selected songs.

I know no one cares, but I do, and this is my blog, so I’m going to write that I have a total of 680 songs in my iTunes library and on my iPhone.  Certain entries like White Rabbit, High Hopes, Ghost Song and Soldier of Fortune are there because I cannot imagine leaving the house without them. Others, those on my Obsession playlist, are there for abuse.

Normally, the most played song on my Most Played list changes every few weeks, But as of xyz months, after I added the latest Arctic Monkeys album and Just Drive (Sky F1 intro) got dethroned, I was forced to rename the playlist because a single day does not go by without me listening to Do I Wanna Know

arctic_monkeys___do_i_wanna_know__by_xblackswordman-d74jxpe

Let’s be clear. I love Led Zeppelin, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, The Doors, Jimi Hendrix… you know, the dead ones and the almost-dead ones. So when I stumble upon something new I tend to abuse it until I get sick  of it. Do I Wanna Know seems to lack the capacity to induce sickness. I guess it’s because I’m a sucker for stories and every time I listen to it I feel there’s a story in there, a good one. It’s the reason why Pink Floyd is my favourite band in the world (using words such as encumbered is another reason).

When I discovered I liked the entire AM album, I shared it with most of my friends, discovering that even my Slipknot-listening mates love that shit. Go figure.

Well, you probably thought I was going somewhere with this. Not really, no.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lukre says:

    I agree with you on several points:
    1) not being able to leave house without certain songs (damn the permanent fixtures)
    2) the love I have for the (almost) dead ones is immeasurable
    3) AM has been thoroughly abused by yours truly
    4) ž

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nicollzg says:

      The Most Abused Album award goes to …

      Like

  2. fromcouchtomoon says:

    Great music choices, and you do a lot worse than being obsesses with Do I Wanna Know. Love that song. My every day obsession is Phantogram. They’ve been dominating my playlist lately.

    Like

    1. nicollzg says:

      Never heard (of) Phantogram. They sound interesting. We’ll see if they’re abuse material 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

