Do you want to know what … it … is?

Back in the ’99, before anime, manga, and cyberpunk became a part of my everyday life, Matrix was a mysterious movie with novel ideas and important philosophical questions. It was cryptic and baffling. It made the thirteen-year-old-me feel very confused.

Today, one Ghost in the Shell, Neuromancer and Snow Crash later, it is just another movie. It has become apparent that the W. brothers (now siblings) spent a good part of the ’98 eating at Chinese restaurants, collecting fortune cookies and assembling them into a script.
fortune_cookie_2 (1)
Yeah, it’s still THE Matrix. It’s still one of the first movies that made me go “Uuuuuuuuuuu!”. But now it makes me yaaaaaaaaaaaaawn. Like many movies of the ’80s, the bringer of the 21st century, the maker of the unnecessary trilogy trend, is good by association, not by itself and in itself. It is the memory. I mean, I remember who I watched it with and where I watched it. (My brother, my friend Ana and me, at my place in Trogir.) There’s only a handful of movies that I remember watching for the first time.
fortune_cookie_2 (1)
It lacks timlessness a movie requires to be a classic. When I first saw it, before the Internet and the information age became a part of my life, I thought it was the shit. Not any more, though. And this is without going into the massacre of Reloaded and Revolutions.

The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now, in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work… when you go to church… when you pay your taxes. It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.

1999 – Uuuuuu, creepy (you look around suspiciously).

2014 – Oh, shut up, already Morpheus!

Fifteen years later, Matrix is still cool, but not because of the idea,. It’s cool because they fly through the air, shooting from impossible positions. It’s cool because everybody likes an ordinary office worker becoming the hero. It’s cool for the same reasons a million other movies are cool.

Leave a Reply

