What are the right fuckin’ books, Will?

Whatever blows your hair back.

Whether it’s a YA or a James Joyce novel, if it blows your hair back – it’s the right fuckin’ book. The question remains: what kind of a ruffle does the book create?

  1. The ruffle which comes about every time you open said book.
  2. Ruffle which continues even after you’ve closed the book.
  3. Lifelong ruffle.

sparklyedward I love all ruffles, but my favourite is the number two ruffle. I love when a book overtakes my life, when it makes me smile just because I’m currently reading it. The anticipation of reading has an effect of sun on Edward Cullen’s skin.

It’s hard to explain this temporary symbiosis between life and book. It is even harder to explain why it happens with some books, which are “objectively” not good, and not with masterpieces. The ruffle has nothing to do with plot, and it has everything to do with gut.

It’s the gut feeling that makes you act a little crazy. There’s no viable reason behind that insane grin you sport every time you think of that book. If someone asks you what in particular makes that book consume you, you cannot answer. It’s everything. It’s the general feel of the book. It’s just right for you. It’s beyond reason, which makes it so much better.

I often tried to capture this feeling, and I failed almost as often. I think the only review in which I managed to explain what I truly feel about a book is my review of The Song of Achilles. But it wasn’t such a big problem to do that because the book is amazing in every aspect. It’s harder to explain the reasons behind mildly obsessive behaviour in connection to Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series and Sylvia Day’s Renegade Angels. Sure, Jericho Barrons is an awesome character and his limited presence in the books is perfectly distributed. Yeah, female characters like Vashti make for a good book. But still, those reasons cannot really explain that gut feeling, the je ne sais pas quality of a good book ruffle.

I started with Good Will Hunting, so it is only appopriate to end with it to illustrate the general state of my mind when I’m having a book ruffle.

good-will-hunting-dance

Have you recently had a good book ruffle?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Kama says:

    The latest book to create ruffle for me is Clarice Lispector’s “The Hour of the Star”. Soon to be reviewed, after I close the Eurovision and EuroMusic Contest posts. 😛

    Like

    1. nicollzg says:

      Sounds kind of sad and depressing by the summary (The Hour of the Star). I’ll be sure to read your review before I make a final decision, because, while I’m not in the depressing mood, it sure seems to be different from anything else I’ve read recently

      Like

      1. Kama says:

        It is different from what I usually read too, but I still think it’s awesome. 😀 I don’t find the book depressing. I wrote finally review ( http://forculturessake.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/the-hour-of-the-star-review/ ), but I guess it isn’t better from your Cowboy Bebop’s post (aka “how do I write so I’ll show how great this is?” situation). I’d like to have it at home (it’s from library) and read it whenever I’d like to.

        Like

      2. nicollzg says:

        I think you did a good job with the review. I think I’m gonna add it to my reading list. It sounds really interesting. I wonder what the sentence you mentioned (about duty) would be in Croatian. One of the reasons why I read mostly US and UK authors is because I don’t have to wonder how much was lost in translation.

        Like

  2. Kama says:

    One of the reasons why I read mostly US and UK authors is because I don’t have to wonder how much was lost in translation.

    Haven’t you always wondered how much you lose from limiting yourself (the selections of books)?

    Like

    1. nicollzg says:

      One of my biggest concerns in life are all those books I haven’t read yet. However, I do plan to remedy that limitation because you reminded me of just how limited I am.

      Like

      1. Kama says:

        Sorry, I didn’t mean for it to be some kind of criticising, rather inspiring positively.

        In the end it’s about enjoying reading books, just some unusual things can lead to a lot of enjoyment too. 🙂 I should remember this too. 🙂 Just this year I discovered a lot of good books. I think I’ll develop a new habit by reaching out for something different, tho Asia and fantasy/sf will still be my “favourite things”. 🙂

        Btw, could you recommend me some Croatian writers?

        Like

  3. nicollzg says:

    Oh no, I do think you inspired me positively. I wasn’t really thinking about it until now. Now, Croatian writers are a bit of a sore spot for me. I don’t have any contemporary writers I really like (probably due to blatant disregard brought upon the fact I’ve studied English language and literature). The only ones I can recommend are those which are considered classics, such as Miroslav Krleža and Ranko Marinković. Damn, I really need to work on that diversification thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

