Ender Wiggin isn’t a killer. He just wins – thoroughly.

enders-gameBecause never in my entire childhood did I feel like a child. I felt like a person all along–the same person that I am today. I never felt that I spoke childishly. I never felt that my emotions and desires were somehow less real than adult emotions and desires.

Ender’s Game reminded me that the world is not dead and that I am the one who would probably be dead before I manage to discover all that the human race has to offer. I’m amazed at the fact that I can still be amazed. And that’s Ender’s Game in a nutshell. I just love when that happens. When a book proves to me that there are still things to discover out there, things to marvel and to enjoy in. Am I exaggerating? Probably, I’m in a poetically philosophical mood. All Ender’s Fault. That’s all I have to say about it. I care not about plot development, characterization and psychological development, mythology…I read that Ender is a Jungian something, there was some talk about Christ and the creation of life, there was something about him not being a purely formulaic character. I just wonder what the race could accomplish if we stopped treating children like blithering idiots and gave them some credit and more freedom. 

tumblr_mn6e1vc0fU1qz8vumo1_500Once again, Hollywood decided to pillage an art form and reshape it in a way that will make money. Or so I suspect. I admit, I am biased. I love a good book movie,  but not every book was meant to be a movie, or so we of little imagination like to think. I don’t think Ender’s Game will make a good movie, not because it’s not movie material, but because I don’t think that they have the balls which take to make Ender’s Game into a paradigm-shifting movie. There’ll be a lot of CGI and awesome special effects. I suspect they’ll find a decent child-actor or two. I suspect they’ll bend over backwards to make sure the movie is appealing to as wide an audience as possible and that it is approved for the general population. I think it is too much to hope they’ll make a PG-13. I shall wait until November, and pray to the Speaker for the Dead I’m dead wrong. In the meantime if you wish to read the book, do it now. And do not watch the teaser trailer before finishing the book in its entirety.

One thought on “Ender Wiggin isn’t a killer. He just wins – thoroughly.

  1. Not a bad article. Honestly, though, your title is what caught my eye. Nicely done!
    I’ve long been a fan of the series and can’t wait to see this movie. While I’m excited about it, I will go into it expecting nothing more than the tripe that was Eragon (the movie) and, thus, I shall not be disappointed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

