Is Tom Cruise too short?

”He had stopped worrying and started relaxing. He was up on that plateau where you just did whatever needed doing. I knew that place. I lived there.”

Even before “Jack Reacher”, the movie, came out there was a fierce outcry about the choice of the leading man. Tom was deemed to be “too tiny” for the role, so I decided to read the first book in the Jack Reacher series to find out the truth.

Answer: Tom Cruise is not too short. Jack Reacher is not about how big he is. It’s how efficient and to the point he is.

My silly reason to start reading Killing Floor lead me to a truly amazing book. It took me over 200 pages to really get into it and start appreciating its trimness. I normally enjoy books with elaborate psychological characterization, with a lot of train of thought and a whole bunch of big words and linguistic play. None of that in Killing Floor. This book is all about plot, and I have been known to detest books like that. Not anymore. The lack of fat in this book is amazing. Killing Floor is downright anorexic. How can that be a good thing, you wonder? A good writer is the answer. Lee Child manages to use scarcity of words and feelings to convey much more than a lot of authors manage through characters laden with complexity.  His plot development is careful and meticulous, he’s not in a hurry and at no point does he embellish things. He’s brutally honest and always straight to the point which gives you a certain calm and peace of mind.

Enjoying a book which is everything I do not look for in a book (first person narrative, skinny characterization, plot insistence) has truly amazed me. And now, I cannot wait to read the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

