Not a Fifty Shades of Grey Review


The entire world getting all worked-up about a book always makes me a bit optimistic and hopeful about the fate of humanity. I’m not going to get into the merits of my book-related optimism; it’s just there because I think books are beautiful and capable of changing the course of history. For ten years kids queued to get their copy of the Harry Potter novel which made me extremely happy. Even more so after I’ve read the books and realized that J.K. Rowling is an amazing writer who had made a great contribution to the upbringing of an entire generation.

The-OFFICIAL-Fifty-Shades-of-Grey-T-shirts-are-now-available-fifty-shades-trilogy-32509326-460-279As the Fifty Shades craze began spreading like a disease through the Internet, I decided to give it a shot. I’m sorry I gave it an idiom and not a more literal shot. I do not have anything against books which are mindless fun, if you check out my Goodreads account you’ll see the evidence. I do, however, resent the idea of a 15-year-old girl thinking: “I want me a boyfriend like Christian Grey because it would be, like, so awesome to have a stalker of my own. Squeal.”

straitjacket-2As the title clearly says, this is not a review of Fifty Shades of Grey. I’ve already done that elsewhere. I wish to say a few words about how appalled I am by books for women written by women.

It saddens me that the women portrayed in these books are weak pushovers who keep stumbling about, falling literally under men’s feet.

I hate the fact that the notion of passion in most of these books is something I’ve come to call „passion of no consent“. Female writers rob their female characters of choice – they depict their heroines as devoid of ability to give consent, because the physical attraction is stronger than their capacity to think. It sickens me to think that lack of ability to make an informed decision is considered the epitome of passion. It sickens me that being reduced to a senseless accumulation of nerve-endings is somehow desirable. Is it normal to crave for a man who will render you spineless and unable to decide what you want? Let me rephrase that with a quote:

“I gasp, and I’m Eve in the Garden of Eden, and he’s the serpent, and I cannot resist.”

3835 - animated_gif dean_winchester sam_winchester supernatural

Also, is it really necessary that every single dude in these books has to be thoroughly fucked up? I mean, a dude with issues is cool, everybody has issues and that is realistic. But dudes who need to spend some serious time on the couch whilst wearing a strait-jacket as a centre of romantic interest?

Have some self-respect.

Please, fantasize about a normal guy with reasonable amount of crazy in his head. Dream of a guy who’ll treat you properly and make you feel like you’re the most beautiful person in the world, a guy who’ll think what you say and think really matters. DO NOT try to change him, because if you want to change him, if you want to cure a part of his personality you are not supposed to be with him and he deserves better.

A/N: Please click the following link to find out how you can help thousands of people who lost their homes in the Balkan floods (May, 2014). Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Not a Fifty Shades of Grey Review

  1. Oh shut up. She wasn’t a weak pushover. If you would have really read these books, she has her strengths and besides, what is wrong with having a man that makes you weak in the knees, not in the head! Apparently you are one of these women that is so caught up in the “strong woman” syndrome that you have no clue what a being a strong woman means. It means you are comfortable enough with yourself that you can share yourself with another person, not allow that person to overpower you. Get a grip, and read these books all the way through…..See how strong she really is!

    Like

    1. I resent your comment. You concluded from my not liking Fifty Shades of Grey that I am not a strong woman, than I am not comfortable with myself? You don’t know me and I don’t know you, and basing your opinion about me on something like my reading preferences is really not cool. You obviously like the books, and I respect that. I don’t think any less of you because I am perfectly capable of seeing why someone might enjoy them. I did not enjoy the first one, which is why I will not read the sequels. I was writing about MY impression of Anastasia and about MY impression of Christian. I would like to continue this discussion and you explaining me why you consider Anastasia a strong woman. I have been looking forward to finding someone with a dissenting opinion because I am open to being dissuaded into reading the sequels. My e-mail is available in the About section if you’re interested in discussing this further.

      Like

Leave a Reply

