Star Trek: Into Darkness

I was looking forward to Star Trek: Into Darkness for months. Up until a week ago I was cautious, but once I bought the tickets my enthusiasm shot through the roof. It’s dangerous to have high expectations because often you end up disappointed. I was not disappointed. Quite the opposite, I was surprised just how good the new Star Trek is.

I expected the fact that Benedict Cumberbatch is ten times the actor in comparison to the rest of the cast will screw up the movie, but it didn’t. You know, the Batman/Robin Hood problem (Heath Ledger/Alan Rickman consume every other actor, rendering the movie unimportant). It did not happen because Benedict was casted for a role in which his superior acting skills are actually beneficial to the movie. I must say that is quite the achievement – knowing your limitations and using them to your advantage. Nice one, Mr Abrams.

reverse-1269602956_dr-mccoy-and-captain-kirk-approve

I have no objections to the plot and I did not see a speck in it that I would change or edit out. Gross underuse of a fine piece of villain in the first movie was corrected. Chris Pine seems more used to the role and is looking rather good as James T. Kirk. Zachary Quinto was a good choice for Spock from the start, and Into Darkness just confirms that he was a damn good call.

st-into-darkness-poster01

I will not lie, the movie is not perfect. I had a feeling that some of the editing was awkward (because I had a thought about editing as I was watching the movie, and I do not have thoughts about editing, ever). Also, it did not really live up to its title. It’s just not dark enough. Most of the movie is clinically white, both literally and figuratively. The blue-eyed Chris Pine was not really all that adept in conveying the darkness I am sure was envisioned. Frankly, a shot of Eric Bana in the first movie was a lot darker than the entire Into Darkness. John Harrison (Cumberbatch) is not dark; he just is the way he is. Maybe it’s my perception, but you cannot attribute any modification of morality to him. Darkness and light do not apply. He is. This lack of darkness is purely subjective, and even so the movie did not lose anything – it just seems to have been misnamed.

123456Before I bring this review to an end, I must point out that I cannot help but wonder just how good the movie would be if I was a guy watching that strange looking Sherlock-dude and teary-eyed Kirk strutting about doing stuff. I put this here as a disclaimer. I think this movie is really, really good, but I am unable to distance myself from my minor obsession with Benedict Cumberbatch. But, come on, who could? Who would even want to?

Leave a Reply

