Kirby Crow: Angels of the Deep

Creative_Wallpaper_Angel_Wings_021839_I took up reading Angels of the Deep because I’m suffering from Supernatural withdrawal, and I thought this could be just up the kill-the-demon-exorcise-the-ghost alley. I read it with great fervour. At first because I wanted to see what happens, then because I wanted the torture to end as soon as possible.

It’s the worst sort of a terrible book. It piques your interest, raises your hopes. The writing is good, the atmosphere gloomy and foreboding. Characters are interesting and you’re just about to start caring for them. You think: “Dear Lord, I have a hidden gem in my hands. I was so lucky to stumble upon this!”

And then it shatters your hopes, ruins your dreams and turns into a little piece of crap. Long-winded descriptions which serve no purpose; sudden changes in characters’ personalities; forced angst and passion; idiotic, endless final battle… Kirby Crow manages to ruin everything that could have been good in this book.

Brrrrrrrrr, I shudder upon recalling the second half. The book decomposed, it lost all sense of direction, there was no pace and I was confused by the lack of any reasonable structure of what was going on. The part of the story about the Nephilim and Watchers seemed to be written with no feeling – just as a perfunctory gesture to the uninformed reader. The main conflict, the thing that the entire book hinges upon makes no freaking sense! You cannot explain your thesis by simply saying it is so. Very few authors get away with it. You have to prove it. You have to show me why this is a problem, why is it so intense that people and other creatures are getting killed over it.

Angels of the Deep deeply upset me. I could go on raving about how it hurt me. It could have been a lovely book. But it is not. Having in mind that after reading this review you will not read Angels of the Deep I do not feel compelled to tell you that there’s a lot of gayness in this book which, unfortunately, ended up being as random and pointless as the rest of the book.

Leave a Reply

